Minneapolis’ Oldest Surviving Wood Frame House
The GODFREY HOUSE, built in 1849, is located at the corner of University
& Central Avenues SE in Chute Square in Minneapolis.
Dandelion Day celebrates Harriet Godfrey’s introduction of dandelion seeds to the St. Anthony Falls area.
Learn how to make dandelion necklaces, bracelets and crowns, just as Helen Godfrey did as a child.
Have a dandelion painted on your cheek or chin, or get a temporary tattoo!
Take home a complimentary recipe booklet which includes recipes for dandelion tea, salad, jelly, soup
and wine, and learn other ways “teeth of the lion” were used throughout history.
Free Godfrey buttons for the kids.
Take a guided tour of the charming yellow Ard Godfrey House with hostesses dressed in 1850s period costume.
Admission is FREE, but donations are welcome.
Restored by The Woman’s Club of Minneapolis, the House has been open to the public since 1979.
Dandelion Day marks the beginning of the summer tour season at the Ard Godfrey House. Dress appropriately for the weather, as there may be waiting lines outside.
Tours are available June 1 – Aug.31, Saturdays and Sundays only, 1:00 - 4:00 pm. No admission fee is charged, but donations are welcome.
Private group tours may be arranged year ‘round for a fee by calling 612-781-8791, or visting www.womansclub.org for more information.